In a survey conducted by AAA, it found that 88 percent of millennials (aged 19-24) polled engaged in dangerous behaviors while driving within the past 30 days, solidifying their spot as the worst behaved drivers in the U.S.
These risky behaviors include texting, running red lights, and speeding—all of which increase the risk of crashing.
The report, initially written by AAA, also cited that traffic deaths in 2015 mounted to 35,092—an increase of seven percent from the previous year. A seven percent increase is the highest increase in five decades.
“Alarmingly, some of the driver’s ages 19-24 believe that their dangerous driving behavior is acceptable,” said Dr. David Yang, AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety executive director. “It’s critical that these drivers understand the potentially deadly consequences of engaging in these types of behaviors and that they change their behavior and attitudes in order to reverse the growing number of fatalities on U.S. roads.”
Texting while driving has been outlawed since 2013. In New York state, a cellphone violation can cost 50 dollars with the first offense with a maximum charge of 200 dollars and add five points on your license—this does not include any surcharges or any other fines New York state tacks on with its judicial system.
The Driver Violation Point System gives the New York State DMV a way of tracking and identifying high-risk drivers. Each traffic violation has a different amount of points assigned to them. If a driver gets 11 points on their license within a period of 18 months, their license will be suspended.
For points to be added to a driver’s license, they must first be convicted of a traffic violation. Point totals are calculated based on the date of the violation, not the date of the conviction, therefore, if texting only added three points on your license on the date a driver was stopped and ticketed, they would only receive three points. Finally, the points for violations that all occurred within 18 months are added together to calculate the point total.
The consequences for drivers under 18 with either a DJ or MJ class license or learner permit can face suspension of their license for 120 days if convicted only once of a texting violation.